CAF announces draw for AFCON Women qualifiers

The headquarters of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in Cairo, Egypt, on Monday hosted the draw for the qualification series that saw a record of 45 member associations taking part.

According to the CAF media channel, Morocco, the host country of the final tournament will qualify automatically as hosts, leaving 44 teams to take part in the qualifiers.

It will be the first edition organized under the format of 12 teams.

CAF Senior Manager for Women Football and Futsal, Heba Sarwat, conducted the draw, assisted by Egyptian footballer, Nadine Ghazy.

Following are the draw results:

First round

M1 – Uganda v Ethiopia

M2 – Kenya v South Sudan

M3 – Eritrea v Burundi

M4 – Djibouti v Rwanda

M5 – Malawi v Zambia

M6 – Tanzania v Namibia

M7 – Zimbabwe v Eswatini

M8 – Angola v Botswana

M9 – Mozambique v South Africa

M10 Algeria v Sudan

M11 Egypt v Tunisia

M12 – Equatorial Guinea v DR Congo

M13 – Sao Tome and Principe v Togo

M14 – Congo v Gabon

M15 – Central African Republic v Cameroon

M16 – Sierra Leone v Gambia

M17 – Liberia v Senegal

M18 – Mali v Guinea

M19 – Guinea Bissau v Mauritania

M20 – Burkina Faso v Benin

M21 – Nigeria v Ghana

M22 – Niger v Cote d’Ivoire

Second Round

Winner M1 v Winner M2

Winner M3 v Winner M4

Winner M5 v Winner M6

Winner M7 v Winner M8

Winner M9 v Winner M10

Winner M11 v Winner M12

Winner M13 v Winner M14

Winner M15 v Winner M16

Winner M17 v Winner M18

Winner M19 v Winner M20

Winner M21 v Winner M22

Aggregate winners qualify to join hosts Morocco in the final tournament.

This will be the 12th edition of the Africa Women Cup of Nations (14th edition if tournaments without hosts are included).

The biennial international football championship is organised by CAF for the women’s national teams of Africa.

The tournament will be held on dates within the FIFA Women’s International Match Calendar in either July–August or October–November 2022.

The tournament also doubles as the African qualifiers for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The top four teams in Morocco will qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and two more teams will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.

Nigeria are the three-time defending champions, having won the tournament in 2014, 2016 and 2018.

The 2020 edition, which would have been the first to feature 12 teams, was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: